Back to School.

My husband, Andrew and I have been talking for a few years about what my plan was as the kids got older. I’ve been a stay at home mom since Middle C was born in 2012. It costs a small fortune to afford child care for more than two kids, and with a kid with medical needs it just didn’t make sense for me to not stay home. But we both acknowledged that when our little Peach started school, it might make sense for me to do something for myself too. Should I just grab a job doing what I had gone to school for right out of High School? Go back into the Food and Beverage Industry? Should I try something different? Should I continue, and amp up selling Beautycounter? Or, the scariest option yet, do i go back to school?
It didn’t take us long to know the answer. Of course the reason going back to school was the scariest is likely because it’s what i wanted most, but was too afraid to do. I had planned my high school courses around taking my Bachelors in Science for Nursing. I just chickened out at the time because I was too embarrassed to have to do any upgrading, and was too afraid to be rejected. So I kept it a secret, didn’t tell anyone and just picked an easier program.

Things got pretty serious pretty quick as our conversations continued, and then I began to share with friends and other members of our families about my hopes and dreams. Until one day, another friend of mine shared that she, too was pursing her dream, and she encouraged me to just go for it! So I did alot of searching, almost changed my program again, but ultimately made the decision to stick to what i’ve been wishing i’d stuck to all those years ago post high school graduation! I’m beginning my journey BACK TO SCHOOL.

Step 1: Figure out which Program is my goal. The real goal.

Step 2: Double check I have all the prerequisites for the program. (Thanks High School Course Counsellor!)

Step 3: Increase my GPA so the program HAS to take me.

Step 4: Register in classes. (Thanks to the local college Course Counsellors who have coached me through this process!)

Step 5: Funding. Oooph.

Right. School costs money. And when I’m in school I need to make sure the kids are cared for. So, I’ve been searching for scholarships and ways to help afford this change for our family. One of the scholarship opportunities is through a company called @sociallyinfused.com. They are a marketing company based in Hamilton, Ontario and they’ve asked the scholarship candidates to write about how we think digital marketing will change in the 2020s. My next blog will be that essay, and it would mean the world to me if you were able to read, interact, and comment on that blog! I have no idea how the recipient of the scholarship is chosen, but I would love to increase my chances any way I can.

So in the meantime, if you have opinions or ideas for HOW DIGITAL MARKETING WILL CHANGE IN THE 2020S, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Otherwise, stay tuned as I keep you posted on our new adventure! And all the crazy things that happen along the way!!

Leave a comment